Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Logan Day Selected As Joe Concannon Award Finalist

Logan Day shoots the puck.


BEVERLY, Mass. – Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Chris Clemente announced today that Colin Larkin from UMass Boston is the winner of the 18th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England at the D-II/III level. Endicott's Logan Day (Seminole, Fla.) and four other NCAA Division II/III student-athletes from the New England region were named finalists for the award.

The Joe Concannon Award was established in 2001 shortly after the passing of the longtime writer for The Boston Globe, who had a great passion for the game of college hockey while always advocating strongly for amateur athletics.

Larkin, a senior from Waterford, Michigan, finished his final season with the Beacons by recording 24 goals and 22 assists for 46 points. During Larkin's four years, he played in 111 games and posted 64 goals and 84 assists for 148 points. He helped the Beacons earn their first NEHC title back in 2016 and first ever trip to the Frozen Four in program history. Larkin recently signed a professional contract with the Edmonton Oilers, where he hopes to join his younger brother Dylan in the NHL next season.

Meanwhile, Day is now a two-time Joe Concannon Award Finalist and is the only student-athlete in Endicott men's ice hockey program history to achieve that feat. 

This past season (26 games), Day registered 38 points on 15 goals and 23 assists. Day currently ranks No. 2 in the country in points per game among all defensemen at 1.46 P/GM.

Over the course of his career with the Gulls (56 games, 2016-18), Day compiled 30 goals and dished out 48 assists for a total of 78 points to go along with 11 power play tallies, five short-handed goals, five game-winners, one hat-trick, and 83 blocked shots.

Day - who signed an amateur tryout contract with the Bakersfield Condors of the American Hockey League (AHL) earlier this month -  is the program's No. 2 all-time leading scorer, and ranks first in points among all defensemen in program history. 

The other finalists who joined day on the list were Brady Fleurent (UNE), Jonathan Ruiz (UMass Dartmouth), Nick DiNicola (Fitchburg State), and Sean Lawrence (Colby).

Past Joe Concannon Award Winners

2001: Keith Aucoin, Norwich University

2002: Michael Carosi, Bowdoin College

2003: Nick Stauder, Salem State College

2004: Jim Pancyzkowski, Wesleyan University | Michael O'Sullivan, Curry College

2005: Brian Doherty, Curry College | Joseph Ori, Trinity College

2006: Adam Dann, Bowdoin College

2007: Greg Osborne, Colby College

2008: Tom Maldonado, Middlebury College

2009: Jeff Landers, Amherst College

2010: Coleman Noonan, St. Anselm College

2011: Josh Harris, Castleton State College

2012: Jeremiah Ketts, Johnson & Wales University

2013: Colin Mulvey, Norwich University

2014: Jackson Brewer, Trinity College

2015: Jamie Murray, Babson College

2016: Jamie Murray, Babson College

2017: Brady Fleurent

2018: Colin Larkin

For the latest on Endicott Athletics, follow the Gulls on social media on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.

(Photo Credit - David Le '10)